Liverpool Chess Club Internal tournaments homepage

Liverpool Chess Club has been running the internal club tournaments since the clubs foundation back in 1837. The Famous Liverpool Table tournament has been running alongside the A, B and C tournaments in that name since 1892 with the winners names displayed on the outstanding Liverpool Chess Club table from that date right up to today.

This years tournament standings can be viewed from the links on the left of this page.

The Liverpool Misc tournament is any games which have been played outside of the individual tournaments but still graded games played in match conditions internally within the club

All Liverpool Table winners going back to 1892 can be viewed in the table on this page:

Immediately prior to 1892 the tournament was known as the Lister tournament. James Lister presented a trophy to the club in 1885 as the tournament prize. Amos Burn was the first winner of the Lister tournament. James Cairns was the first winner of the Liverpool Table tournament back in 1892.

2023 Tournaments and players

Table All play All once - All Rapid 30 mins default upto 60/inc if agreed - All games to be completed before end of July Cut off

A,B,C - STD games (61 mins default) unless agreed longer - Play as many games as possible - 1st July top 4 scoring players in each group enter semifinal play off to decide winner

Table- Fred Lang, Dylan Mize, Marek Korsinskij, Nik Korsinskij, Jack Erskine, Mike Clarke, Mike Griffin, Ian Stephens

A - Rob Thomas, Farzaneh Mousavi, Hon Meng Moh, Barbara Novak, Vlad Gorchev, Rob Steele, Alex Gredley, Pete Mellor, Isaac Leafe, Nehan Radia

B - Shay Hanlon, Jake Money, Ian Nicholson, Brian Corner, Jordan Shaw, Keegan Broxup, Thomas Francis, Jan Austen-Vincent, Brian Caulfield, James Williams, Mike Turner, Joshvir Garcha

C - Everyone else